League Cup
20 October 2007
Llandyrnog United 4 Glantraeth 1
Report by Stan Strickland

Llandyrnog finally ran out easy winners to end Glan’s hopes of cup success this season and once again there will be concerns that a fourth successive penalty miss cost any chance of getting back into the game.

The home side went close in the first minute as Stuart Vernon fired just wide only for Glantraeth to go even closer a minute later as Rob Williams broke clear only for his shot to clip the outside of a post.

New keeper Gareth OJ Roberts soon showed his worth reacting well to save from Adam Lloyd then going full length to keep out Vernon.

The game was being played at 100 miles per hour with little time for either side to settle on the compact Cae Nant pitch. OJ Roberts was the busier of the two keepers and he had no chance after 21 minutes when Glan were caught sleeping from a quickly taken free kick that left Dyrnog skipper Chris Williams with an easy conversion.

Home keeper Ian Davies did well to save from Chris Saxon six minutes later and almost immediately Jon Slater broke free at the other end with OJ Roberts doing well to force him wide.

Early second half pressure from the visitors paid off ten minutes into the second period as Chris Saxon read a beautifully delivered Jon Peris Jones free kick perfectly to break free of defenders and head past Davies.

All the good work was quickly undone two minutes later as referee Bridges harshly adjudged that OJ Roberts had brought down a Dyrnog forward and Craig Wilkinson converted the penalty and this was quickly followed by the award of another penalty on 61 minutes as Saxon clearly handled in the area and Wilkinson again made no mistake with the spot kick.

Glantraeth’s last chance to get back into the game came and went on 71 minutes as Rob Williams was brought down only for Davies to dive to his left and save Gerallt Jones’ penalty kick.

Continuing to push forward Paul Tilbury headed over and Paul Rowlands saw a shot blocked but victory was confirmed for the Denbighshire side three minutes from time as an unmarked Slater easily converted a right wing cross.

Glantraeth: Gareth OJ Roberts, Jon Peris Jones, Darren Jones, Paul Tilbury, Gareth Owen (Paul Rowlands 57), Richard F Owen, Rob Williams, Chris Saxon (Emyr Rowlands 73), Gerallt Jones (Alan Jones 73), Kevin Roberts, Nigel Barry.