League Cup Semi-Final
20 March 2007
Holyhead Hotspur 1 Glantraeth 0
Report by Stan Strickland

Glantraethís hold on the League Cup was broken as a late goal from Holyheadís Ian Williams proved the winner on a freezing cold night at Talwrn Road, Llangefni. In truth the semi-final proved a poor spectacle for the large crowd with neither keeper seriously tested for much of the game.

Hotspur were fired up from the start and looking to close down Glantraeth at every opportunity, the first real chance of the game coming to Holyhead after 5 minutes as Curt Williams tamely headed wide following a free kick.

As Glantraeth began to weather their opponentís opening burst Kevin Roberts was put clear by Paul Rowlands on 25 minutes but shot wide under challenge from Hotspur skipper Jonny Parry. Parry stayed down and had to be stretchered off with a suspected broken ankle. Five minutes later Roberts was again clear on goal but despite hopeful shouts for a penalty James Parry robbed him of the ball as he prepared to shoot.

Mike Edwards cut in smartly for Holyhead on 41 minutes and let fly with his right foot causing Dave Ball to make a save low to his right.

Glantraeth should have taken the lead a minute before the break as Paul Rowlands beat his man by the corner flag then brilliantly jinked his way along the goalline before pulling the ball back perfectly for Richard Owen but Glanís leading scorer badly miscued on the uneven surface and the ball passed harmlessly wide.

The Bodorgan side looked much more in control after the break but despite playing some good football Holyheadís young keeper Liam Shanahan was rarely being troubled although he reacted quickly just past the hour mark as Richard Owen was only inches away from being first to a through ball from Kevin Roberts.

Curt Williams twice went close as the New Oval side staged a late effort to break the stalemate then with extra-time looking likely Glantraeth failed to clear and Ian Williams was on hand to score the winner with three minutes remaining.

Glantraeth: Dave Ball, Emyr Rowlands, Darren Jones (Mark Owens 89), Carl Thomas, Gareth Owen (Warren Gibbs 45), Nigel Barry, Rob Williams, Cemlyn Williams (Osian Pritchard 61), Richard Owen, Kevin Roberts, Paul Rowlands.