Cymru Alliance
19 April 2008
Glantraeth 3 Holyhead Hotspur 2
Report by Stan Strickland

With the game seeming to be going their way Holyhead inexplicably pressed the self-destruct button during a second period that saw them have two players dismissed and four more cautioned. Glantraeth sensed their opportunity and in a remarkable last twenty minutes came back from two goals down to snatch victory.

The first half had seen the home side monopolise possession and play most of the football on display but despite a succession of free kicks and corners fail to really trouble keeper Liam Shanahan while Hotspur had taken advantage of their one real opportunity after 12 minutes as a left wing corner kick fell nicely for Marc Evans to hammer the ball home.

The visitors began the second half strongly playing with the wind at their backs, Tom Nathan Edwards and Ian Williams both firing over from good positions. At the other end Paul Rowlands had a shot palmed away by Shanahan and Emyr Rowlands was narrowly wide with Glanís best effort so far.

On the hour mark Holyheadís Darren Garmey was sent off by referee Martyn Twigg for a second yellow card but within a minute the New Oval side had gone two ahead as a long ball pinged up off the pitch and over keeper Gareth OJ Roberts and left Ian Williams with an easy finish.

There was a lifeline for Glantraeth on 69 minutes as Emyr Rowlands was tripped as he surged into the area and Gareth Wyn Roberts made penalty taking look easy with the perfect spot kick high to the keeperís right. A minute later the game took a further dramatic turn as Glan really went for the jugular, a shot from Gerallt Jones was blocked only to spin loose to the incoming Sion Parry who fairly buried the ball in the net.

On 75 minutes the dismissal of Steve Matthews saw Holyhead further reduced to nine men and before he had even reached the dressing room Glantraeth scored again as Chris Saxon triumphantly headed home a corner kick delivered by Paul Rowlands to give the Anglesey village side all three points.

Glantraeth: Gareth OJ Roberts, Emyr Rowlands, Darren Jones, Llion Davies, Sion Parry, Richard Owen, Paul Rowlands, Chris Saxon, Gerallt Jones, Gareth Wyn Roberts, Paul Tilbury.